M A R Y A M

Who was I ?

Posted on: Thursday, May 28, 2009

I was splashing my face with cold water when I looked into the mirror. I was taken aback, with the sight that met my eyes. Somebody of you maybe letting their imaginations run wild and figuring out that it was an alien or something that I saw, Sorry to disappoint you but that’s not what I saw. Staring a bit at the face, It took me a while to sink in that the eyes boring back at me were mine. But why was I getting a weird feeling as if I were suddenly trapped in someone else body ?

I felt like I was not what the mirror says I am; Knew quite well the face and eyes, yet felt alien to me. I suddenly had an urge to touch my face and see for myself if that’s what even the mirror shows. Too afraid to discover otherwise I just kept staring that face. I suddenly felt cold, the cold had nothing to do with the heavy snow outside, It was cold that came from deep inside me, fear dare I say.

Rummaging through my memory to remember what my latest picture looked like, I grew a little relaxed to conclude thats its me. ME ! But why did I had to fight my mind to say out loud that its me ? With still that creepy feeling tugging my senses I suddenly turned away from the mirror. Satisfied that atleast I am not staring at that face anymore, I was shocked to realise the effort it took not to turn back and check if the face still was there.

Having debated quite a lot of whether I should just walk away or just have one last look … I decided to go with the latter one.Gaining an upper hand over my senses I drew in deep breaths and turned slowly, very slowly towards the mirror. And there it was … It was definitely me. This time I was more than sure its me, minus the creepyness I felt awhile back. It felt as normal as it felt everytime I looked at myself in mirror.

Why ? Why was I troubled at first with my sight ? It was almost as if I could see my soul but in a different body. It was nonetheless a scary position to be in .. Have you ever been there ?

Like my blog ? Subscribe to M A R Y A M by Email

Tags: ,

4 Responses to "Who was I ?"

Sure, I’ve been there, and the older you get, the more often you’ll be there, too!

The good news is that you’ll get used to it, and eventually even embrace it.

ACtually, a few years ago a very similar thing happened to me too. i called it an ‘out of body’ experience. was very weird.

maybe that’s what it feels like when the soul leaves the body.

I had that feeling when after three months I suddenly shaved off my beard completely… it was spooky!

Marahm … Oh really ??!! I was hoping never to experience it again ever 😦

Dreamlife .. I agree, It was definitely weird.
Good thought though, Haven’t considered about it earlier

Haleem .. 🙂

Leave a comment

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

May 2009
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 181,558 visits