M A R Y A M

GMR

Posted on: Friday, August 15, 2008

Having travelled a lot alhamdulillah, The one thing I wished and always hoped would change in Hyd was the Airport, which was too congested for the ever growing population. To my relief and happiness, It did change. The big day was Mach 23rd 2008 (I know I am very late writing about it .. 😦 ), the day when the Airport was officially open for Public, although a little work has to be done here and there. And what a beautiful and spacious thing that is ??!! Considering the Developments going on in Hyd lately, this wasnt a surprise, yet It was.

This Airport is situated a bit far from the occupied part, encouraging its size to be absolutely HUGE for more and more aircrafts to load and unload passengers at the same time. Due to its distance from the City, They have decided to launch Shuttle services from 15 different locations in Twin Cities. The plan however is to run 125 air-conditioned buses to operate as shuttles, where Fifty of the buses will be reserved for airport staff and 75 for passengers. This may however discourage the flocks of people tagged along with a passenger with their teary goodbyes and Hugs, ultimately not crowding the whole place and Making it look less and less like a Airport.

Luckily, My parents got to travel within a month of its opening and was initially showered with many pictures, to satisfy my curiosity … πŸ™‚ of which I can post only few as in every picture, My brother (whom i fondly call chotu) stares back at me with a grin on his face … πŸ˜‰

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The HUGE escalator carrying passengers to the Departure’s

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Outside view, with Landscaping work in progress

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The Waiting Lounge, amid various shopping stores

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

A very chic Food Place, like many others.

I googled it, to find some real good pictures of ‘GMR Rajiv Gandhi International Airport’ and some very good sources. Click here, here and here for more.

Like my blog ? Subscribe to M A R Y A M by Email

9 Responses to "GMR"

Salaams Maryam,
it makes a lot of difference when you travel doesn’t it. Lahore did the same a few years back and replaced their decrepit old airport with the new Allama Iqbal airport which looks better than London Heathrow to me, makes me look forward to getting there.

Thing is in Pakistan, only those parts of the infrastructire that are used by the very rich: airports, posh rest-stations on highways and the like tend to be upgraded so well.

Assalaamu alaikum,

The airport is looking good – was the old one that bad?

It’s the same in Algeria; the old airport was terrible, too small and so old and smokey… the first that hit me each time was the cigarette smoke! They finally (and I mean finally!) finished building the new one although it still has the same name as the old one which seems strange to me and it is so much better. Very modern and European looking inside, much better check-in desks and even some duty free shops inside. You were lucky there was a newspaper kiosk and a tiny perfume kiosk at the old one!

I still had to wait over an hour on arrival with 5 miserable kids, in the passport queue though! 😑

Waw, very beautiful. The glassy hall is so similar to what you get in Imam Khumeini Airport in Tehran. πŸ™‚

Ya I suppose the new airport is quite nice, I didnt get a chance to travel after the new airport has come up, but my hubby did and he actually liked it more than the new Bangalore Intl airport πŸ™‚

I am guessing that the airport opened not too long ago but strangely the pictures give me a strong feeling of deja vu!

Umm Salihah .. Oh! Good for Pakistan then. An airport is always an important building in a city, which definitely needs to be upgraded along with time and birth of new technology.

Umm Ibrahim .. No, It wasnt bad. But lets say that It needed to be changed with Time. Same pinch on the Cigarette smoke though .. πŸ˜‰

Shazi .. Yeah, It sure is.

Fatima .. Oh! Really ??
I am all excited now to see the Airport inshallah .. πŸ™‚

Jahandost .. Really ?? Then you must have some pictures similar to these .. But Its Spooky, Isnt it ? πŸ˜‰

Haleem .. Yes, It is in India (Hyderabad) .. πŸ™‚

Looks fab. I can’t *wait* to see it when I go back later this year. Hey, I didn’t know you were from Hyderabad too. That’s nice :). Ramadhan mubarak.

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 176,933 visits
