M A R Y A M

Murgh/Chicken Khorma

Posted on: Saturday, August 9, 2008

After my Brief post about Hyderabad, I figured posting a recipe or two for which Hyderabad cooking is really famous for, wouldnt do any harm. So, Here I am with the recipe of Authentic Hyderabadi Murgh Khorma. This Dish is usually served in Weddings and even enjoyed at many Occasions. This Dish is a Huge hit with my Family, and why should it be ? Its so mouth-watering; Nobody Dare resist it .. πŸ™‚ I Also happen to forward this entry to the RCI: Authentic Hyderabadi Cuisine even held at Zaiqa.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Ingredients:

Whole Chicken Pieces – 800 gms

Onions (cut in slices)- 7-8 small

Yogurt – 1 1/2 cup (or) 350 gms

Cocoa Powder (optional) – 1 tbs

Chilli Powder – 3 tsps

Ginger Garlic Paste – 1 tbs

Salt – 2 1/2 tsps

Coconut Milk – 1 tbs

Garam Masala – 1 tbs

Groundnut Powder – 11/2Β  tbs

Lemon Juice – 3 tbs

Water – 2 cups

Kassori meethi – 2 tbs

Oil – 4 tbs

Procedure:

In a Non stick Pan, add a drop or two of oil and fry the Onions at medium heat by stirring frequently. Add Ginger-Garlic paste, a vital ingredient to enhance the flavor. Keep on adding a few drops of water to soften the onion and for uniform brown colour.

Once the Onions are sauted, Blend them into a fine paste adding a little water, without making it too watery.

In the same pan, Add 2 tbs of oil and the Onion paste. Beat the yogurt with a whisk and add it to the Pan, along with all the spices.

Allow it to simmer on Low heat, stirring occasionally.

In the meanwhile, In an another pan or container add 1 tbs of oil. Wash the chicken pieces and add them to the Oil, Throw in a tsp each of salt, Chilli powder and Turmeric Powder and Lemon Juice to induce the flavors into the chicken and let it cook till the water from the Chicken is evoparated. I personally like to add cocoa powder here, as I like nothing better than the variation Cocoa powder provides with Chicken.

As the Oil starts separating from the Onion-Yogurt Mixture (which may take anything between15-20 minutes depending on the base of the pan), Add the chicken pieces and stir them evenly.

Allowing it to simmer for 5 minutes, Add water as per your desired consistency. I personally like it a bit thin (soupy), rather than too think. Hence I add about 2 cups of water. You may add more or less than this.

Bring it to a boil. Garnish it with either fresh Cilantro leaves or Kassori Meethi and a dallop of Butter.

Serve hot with Naan or Parathas.

Like my blog ? Subscribe to M A R Y A M by Email

18 Responses to "Murgh/Chicken Khorma"

Yummmmyyy…
You must be a good cook Maryam πŸ™‚

naan ki recipe to batayi hi nahi *-)

ummm, thats wat i intend to make this weekend!

OOOh, yummylicious!

Oh god, it looks so mouth savoring that I want to just grab it right from this picture πŸ™‚ Is the black thing Kalonji? the black lil seeds?

I’ll try this on 14th aug =D

Yummy……..I make the same thing but without cocoa powder n coconut milk. πŸ™‚

Waw, seems yummy. And coconut milk and Cocoa Powder blus chilli. It should have a new taste for me. It should be spicy+sweet. yes?
We dont have a recipe that we use coconut milk in it. It’s very interesting. I think i’ll try it.
And we say “murgh” for chicken and “khurma” for date too. πŸ˜›

Looks delicious – I haven’t made a curry in a while but am craving one now…

What is ground nut powder? Ground almonds? And what is Kassori Meethi?

oh ya allah it looks delicious..you REALLY put cocoa powder in it???
xx

WOW , its ma Fvrite πŸ™‚

Lubbu .. Thank you for your kind words Dear.I really hope I am a Good Cook .. 😳

Tauqeer .. Maybe next time inshallah .. πŸ˜‰

Unaiza .. Good you visited my blog then, No ?

Missspecs .. I agree .. πŸ˜‰

Asma .. Oh! Thank you Hon,
The Black thing is Kasuri Methi, which is dried Mathi leaves.

Fatima .. You Do ? I am pretty positive It would be just as tasty as My variation .. πŸ™‚

Shazi .. Yeah! I really like the combination of Chilli and cocoa powder, Kind of makes it rusty .. Love it !
Do tell me your thoughts about it, Once you tried it .. πŸ™‚

Umm Ibrahim .. This would definitely serve as a wonderful curry to satisfy your craving .. πŸ™‚
Groundnuts are Peanuts, and Kasuri Methi is dried Methi leaves.

Seeking Taqwa .. Yes, I do REALLY use Cocoa powder in it. Weird Isnt it ? I know .. πŸ˜‰

Niyaz .. Mine too .. πŸ™‚

looks delicioussssss πŸ™‚

[…] Maryam posted the recipe of Murgh Quorma inΒ  Hyderabadi style the other day. Only reading through the recipe sounded so yummy that I knew … I had to make […]

I defintely want to try this recipe if it has peanuts in then! I love chicken with peanutty sauces, lke satay. πŸ™‚ OK will look out for methi leaves then, will have to google this as I have no idea what methi leaves are but there is normally quite an extensive spice section in the supermarket so I hope to find them. πŸ™‚

first time here.mashallah nice blog!ur khorma looks gr8! but I never tried cocoa powder in khorma, will give it a try….

Assalamvalekum Dear. Ramadan Mubarak. First time here. U have a nice and gr8 blog. Mashaallah. This recipe looks awesome. Nice entry to the event.

This chicken looks so good my daughter and I are drooling and so hungry now!

Thanks for the wonderful recipe. It was fantastic & finger licking.

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 177,187 visits
