M A R Y A M

O Canada ..

Posted on: Wednesday, July 2, 2008

Well, Well .. It was the First of July i.e.Canada Day yesterday. What a lovely day It was, How much I enjoyed it. Not that I am patriotic or anything, but the package it comes with was simply irresistible … πŸ˜‰ . Canada has a very unique concept of celebrating their historical dates. After dark, Canada lights the whole sky with their fireworks in celebration of The Making of Canada way back in 1867.

The last year we saw the fireworks from the Ontario Place, this year Z planned of something else, of which I again had no idea. Boy! Am I glad he surprised me … !!!!. We started at around 5:00 in the evening, by TTC rather than our car to avoid the traffic which really was nerve-wracking due to the Holiday. I absolutely Love seeing Toronto by TTC or Street Cars, specially the Downtown area. For me, It beyond comparision if seen through my car’s window.

The street car dropped us at HarbourFront Centre where I could catch some very beautiful glimpses of the Lake Ontario and the ferries. I was bust watching the Lake, enough not to notice Z standing in a line for tickets. And Suddenly I was like: Z, Are we buying tickets for a ride in the Ferry ?? At which Z looked at me and winked. O Boy! Was I excited, Was i scared too ?? Having never stepped on a ferry/boat is enough to give you goosebumps as well as make you excited, Isnt it ??

Anyway, It was a nice ride which dropped us on a Island there – ‘Centre Island’. We sat and had our food first and then started walking towards the Hanlan’s Point, where we could see the fireworks, but from the other side of toronto this time … πŸ™‚

At 10:30 pm the fireworks started and there we sat before the beach, listening to the waves singing in their own tunes and watching the whole city lighten up along with various other people as us. Oh! What a view it was, I wish you all would have seen it. I am so sorry I couldnt take my Camera with me. Silly of me, Isnt it ?? I know … !!! Anyways, here are some of the pictures ..

Ferry

Our Ferry along the Toronto Sky-Line (Click here to enlarge/Source)

Streetcar Toronto (Click here to enlarge/Source)

Fireworks (Click here to enlarge/Source)

Some more Fireworks (Click here to enlarge/Source)

And more (Click here to enlarge/Source)

What do you say Friends ?? Have you also been there ?? Please share your experiences here with us all.

Β Like my blog ? Subscribe to M A R Y A M by Email

10 Responses to "O Canada .."

I really love fireworks. We have fireworks at the day and nite of Iran’s revolution day. πŸ™‚

canada has produced one of my favorite musicians….Bryan Adams…

Assalamu Aleykum Sister,

Yes, I’ve been to the Island 2 years ago. I loved it masha’Allah. Am sure it’d be an ideal place to watch the fire work, away from the main crowd, though still magnificent and beautiful.
Then I was with my baby cousins as they enjoyed their rides at the amusement park, and I had my share of walking done along the park and down at the beach.
Hmm, I might have missed Toronto now that I think about it.
πŸ™‚

Sister Hikmet

As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu my dearest Maryam,

Glad to hear you had such a fun time. I haven’t been that end in ages.. a few years plus some.

I spent the day at the lake playing soccer! AlhumduliLlah, it was a lovely day.

Wa’alaykum as-salaam
Love Farhana

Assalaamu Alaikum wrahmatullahi wabarakatuhu,

Mash’Allah sounds fantastic! I love watching fireworks too. Insh’Allah I’ll be going to the 4th of July (America’s independence Day) festival tomorrow to watch them.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the day. πŸ™‚
I have been to centre island only once when I took part in dragon boating competition…spent almost whole of the day there…liked the place.
Canada Day…enjoyed the day on biking(bicycle) trails in Toronto πŸ™‚
Fireworks..I just went down to the square next to home…and it was really packed…but it was good.

Oh.. we were going to go to Centre Island! How strange! Then at the last minute we changed our mind. I could’ve walked right past you and wouldn’t have known!!

The weather was beautiful wasn’t it πŸ˜€

Good to hear and see that you had a wonderful time..:)

Ditto with aashely..glad to see that you’re having a wonderful time πŸ™‚

Shahrzad .. Really ?? ake some pics and share it with then. Keeping in mind you have a wonderful photoblog too … πŸ™‚
I shall be waiting .. !!!

UTP … Oh! Now who would Brain Adams be ?? I am sorry, I am such a Idiot when talked about Music .. 😦

Hikmet … Yes, It was. It was very romantic too .. 😳
Why dont you visit Toronto in either spring or Fall with your kids for a vacation ?? It might be just what you needed .. πŸ™‚

Farhana .. You dint ?? Why not go there before we knd of hibernate in winter ??? πŸ˜‰
Someone surely seems to love Soccer thew most … !!!! πŸ™‚

Umm Yusuf .. Really ??
Why ? You must have been there now that its 6th Today, So, Did you enjoy ?? It was fun, Wasnt it? πŸ˜‰

Zios … It was the first time, I went there and absolutely loved the place. I am constantly bugging Z to take me there soon again inshallah … πŸ˜‰
Watching fireworks is fun, no matter whether packed or not. Actually the more packed it is, the more merrier it becomes, I think… πŸ˜‰

Liya .. Yeah, We couldhave even crossed our path’s, but wouldnt have known. Definitely feels strange.
Wish you would have came too. The weather was just suitable to be outside, along the beach … πŸ™‚

Aashely & Lubbu .. Oh! Thats sooooo sweet of you both Lubbu Dear and Aashely …. Love you both πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 177,187 visits
