M A R Y A M

The Kite Runner

Posted on: Saturday, May 31, 2008

As you all must have understood by reading the title, This post is about a poignant story I read awhile back ‘The Kite Runner’ by Khaled Hosseini.

The most beautiful fact about ‘The Kite Runner’ is It felt very close to the reality, I could instantly picture a boy like Amir and someone like Hassan. The plight of people living amid wars in Afghanistan brought tears in my eyes. Wars destroying their culture, uprooting their heritage, Ruling and torturing them in their own land was gruesome, I just dint realise when i started crying for those people. The Characters are so beautifully potrayed, some of whom I instantly fell in love with, and some whom I couldnt help but Hate.
This story is about Amir, a upper class Pashtun, who enjoys the luxury of education, material comfort and a playmate Hassan, His Hazara servants son. Throughout the story the Loyality and friendhsip between them are tested, where Hassan often ends up paying a Heavy price more than life itself and Amir chooses a path of less resisitance hiding behind his superior class. Marking the betrayal of Amir towards Hassan, the scar on Amir’s heart tortures and ridicules him his whole life when one day He gets a chance to redeem himself, choosing of which leads him to an another perilous challenge filled with Love, Hope, Loss and Happiness, explaning him the essence of His life, His friendship with his longtime companion Hassan.

I wish i could write more, I wish my words wouldnt have betrayed me. This book left me absolutely speechless just like His lates novel ‘The Thousand Splendid Suns’ which I will reviewing shortly inshallah. I encourage everyone to read this book, I am sure you would be amazed by the beautiful and enriching debutant stroy from Khaled.

A very heartwarming read by Khaled – The Kite Runner.

Like my blog ? Subscribe to M A R Y A M by Email

24 Responses to "The Kite Runner"

I have had huge intentions of reading this book , it looks so good . I will go and look for it in the liberary inshallah .

Yes…it is a very nice book…close to reality and it took me back when we used to run after kites…and I loved the picture Khaled has painted.

Excellent book… and a Brilliant movie!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

You should read ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’…it’s even better!

I love kite runner, yet scared to read “Thousand splendid suns” so i would finish up all the magic..
I think I will keep it safe in my closet until Khaled publishes his 3rd novel. Then I can read “thousand splendid suns” and be sure, a 3rd magical book is yet to come ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s one of those very good books that i dont have a desire to read them twice. As you said so real picturing scenes, but so heartbreaking..

A very nice book . I didnt know tht a movie has also been made, but the book is absolutely brilliant.

Simply marvelous. And that too for his first writing experience. I used to laugh with ’em and cry with ’em .. what more magic an author can put ?

I’ve bought the movie a few days back, I hope it has done full justice to the writings ๐Ÿ™‚

Gosh..it seems like such a luxury now, to be able to curl up with a book and forget theres something called “life” happening around you ๐Ÿ˜
I know Ive been majorly missing in action.. a little something to make up for the absence๐Ÿ™‚

Amal … You still havent ? C’mmon Amal .. Read it. You would LOVE IT, Believe me .. ๐Ÿ™‚

Zios .. To be honest, I dint knew the concept of running behind kites existed before i read this book .. ๐Ÿ˜ณ
It has nothing to do with the fact that I am a girl though, as myself did fly kites .. Okay, two atleast… !!!

Nova … Yes, It really is/was

Arima .. Yes I did,And i agree its as beautiful and captivating as ‘Kite Runner’, though they dont hold any comparision .. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lastro Ardi .. Thats right, I am very earnestly waiting for his 3rd novel too. I advise you to read ‘The Thousand Splendid Suns’ as soon as you can, as we cant afford to loose that Magic, Can we ??
Interesting Idea though … ๐Ÿ™‚

Shahrzad .. It truly was heartbreaking, but nothing compared to what the story of ‘The Thousand Splendid Suns’ does to a soul … Simply Outstanding … ๐Ÿ™‚

Fatima … Yes, A movie is also based on this novel, But i personally prefer the book over the movie any time .PERIOD.

Asma … The author certainly deserves Praise for writing such a wonderful story as a debutant.

mayG .. Aww ..I understand sweety. I too at times get scared thinking of what would happen of me once i will have kids too, Would I stop reading books … No!! No!!! … ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
Thank you soooooo much for that award sweety, Love ya .. ๐Ÿ˜‰

omg i love that book it was amazing, i watched the movie too an its exactly how i pictured it to be, although the character assef looked a bit different in my mind

I enjoyed the book more than Thousand Suns, but am now sick of both of them since teaching them and having to read and re-read 20 essays about them!

I LOVED this book–its my favorite.Next,Id like to see the movie,i hope it does the book justice.

“for you a thousand times over” ๐Ÿ™‚
i liked it, but i think i prefer a thousand splendid suns.
i think it reaches out and appeals to different types of people, which is very difficult to do

hmm…lost the love of reading books…since got glued to the internet…

I loved this book too! It was amazing.

Oh and A thousand splendid suns is a magic on its own. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’d highly recommend iy.

Assalam-alaikam,
I’ve read both and really enjoyed them, really engrossing reads. I also liked the way he wrote The Kite Runner from the perspective of men and a Thousand Splendid Suns from the viewpoint of various women.
The second book especially, really gave me an insight into the whole background of what happened in Afghanistan.
Definitely would reccommend.

[…] the kite runnerOwn a WordPress blog? Make monetization easier with the WP Affiliate Pro plugin. The Kite Runner saved by 3 others     Jasam4evr bookmarked on 06/03/08 | […]

all the author’s works are good…. ๐Ÿ™‚
really have an impact on anyone reading them…

Liked this book a lot.

The Antidote … To be honest with you, I dint quite liked the movie, I would prefer the book any day over the movie .. ๐Ÿ™‚

Liya … You taught about his books ? You wrote 20 essays about it ? Oh God!! I understand why you are sick now … ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Miss Muslimah … I saw the movie, But i dint like it as much as i loved the novel. Maybe because it actually describes every feeling, every situation which the movie fails to .. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
Did you?

Hema .. I believe both his books are from different point of views and his writing justified them equally.
Loved his second novel too though … ๐Ÿ™‚

UTP … Thats sad, Because you are missing some pretty beautiful stuff … !!

Purple Drifter … Me too .. !!! I agree
Arent both his novel’s very close to reality and a wonderful experience to read through ?

Umm Salihah … I agree. Kite Runner is a novel through a Man’s perspective, whereas his second novel The Thousand Splendid Suns is a novel from a Woman’s.
His second novel made me cry and my heart bled for such people, who really survived such torture … ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Adikbongsu … Yeah, I liked his second book too .. ๐Ÿ™‚
Made me sad though, but i loved reading it.

Sumera … Me too … ๐Ÿ™‚

[…] Khaled, Love, Men, Tears, Woman Having read and loved Khaled Hossieni’s first novel ‘The Kite Runner‘, I decided to read his second too ‘The Thousand Splendid Suns’. Oh What a […]

very nice and sadly,Ilove you khaled,Ilove you

very nice,…Ilove you khaled,Ilove you

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 177,294 visits
