M A R Y A M

Suggestions… Please!!

Posted on: Saturday, May 17, 2008

Oh Dear… !!! Just when i thought had enough, I had an another blow. I have been hearing that Rice is suddenly not been imported and is facing a Major Shortage in our neighbouring countries. Never thought the same would happen here, in Canada. But it did. It is no where available in Market and ev if it is, It costs more than what our whole grocery costs … !!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Rice is a staple food for us(as we are Indians). We eat rice in almost every meal, and rice facing shortage is a BIG thing for us, which only you for whom Rice serves as a staple food can understand. I have been racing my mind to think of possible options to replace Rice with. The best option that surfaced was eating Roti/Chapati(made from wheat). To be honest with you, I am kind of bored with that too.

This post is basically to invite suggestions from you, on what can we eat instead Rice as our main meal. I would really appreciate that .. ๐Ÿ™‚ . Anyone facing the same dilemma as me ? How are you managing ? What are you switching Rice with ???

12 Responses to "Suggestions… Please!!"

Plenty of rice here ๐Ÿ˜€ If you can’t find rice, try couscous instead.

Rice … O Rice … I can’t live without ’em …!

Since I can’t dream of some other way to live on … I can only pray for you dear ๐Ÿ™‚

*Ricely Hugs*

Import from US….Condolizza Rice ๐Ÿ˜€

mashed potatoes or maize meal ๐Ÿ˜€ lets turn Caribbean now ๐Ÿ˜€

Go with Sumera said and try couscous, I eat it all the time, I actually don’t like rice! ๐Ÿ˜€

Oh yes I heard about this rice thing ! I was so depressed I am obsessed with rice , it is still being imported to the uk , strange you do not have it in canada, Man rice is the most important thing of all .

Well you could make casseroles which do taste yummy with bread , don’t always have chapatis , have nan bread make them , their yummy . Or buy baguetes every now and then .

And grapes, I was had probably the forests I assumed

We in Iran have one rice meal in a day, most for lunch. I saw some women use bread here, and based on sitology, bread is the best to be used instead of rice. And much healthier of course, if one is in diet…

LOL @ Sumera

Assalam-alaikam Sister Maryam,
Its the same here in the UK, rice prices have almost tripled. We are surviving because we are Punjabi and eat mostly chapatti’s but the price of flour has also gone up drastically and the quality has gone down which is a surprise.

Maybe you could turn Punjabi and eat roti too? Otherwise there’s pasta (but how long can we stay away from rice and roti?). Couscous is interesting but I haven’t got a clue what to do wth it.

Sumera .. Plenty of rice there huh ?? Lemme send my secret agents to steal some from your side … ๐Ÿ˜‰
I have heard of couscous, but have never tried it. I would wanna give it a try now inshallah.

Asma … Thanks Dear. And i shall pray for you too … ๐Ÿ™‚

Zios … Oh! Okay, I will search the market for the Condolizza Rice now .. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tauqeer … Mashed potato is a wonderful option, Made it the other day. Liked it .. ๐Ÿ™‚
Gosh! Am already turned into Punjabi now(eating rotis always) and now its Caribbean time … !!!

Liya … I have never tried Couscous, but will have to now I guess.
I dont love rice, And i dont hate it either… ๐Ÿ™‚

Benevolence …. Yes, Rice is surely the important thing. Never knew its importance when had it in abundance, but now that we dont see it anymore, I miss it … ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
As i said, I cant eat breads often too, mostly because of yeast in it. Baguetes is a good option though ๐Ÿ™‚

Nogo … I am not sure I understood what you said … !!!

Shahrzad …. Bread is a good option, but i seem to be not in good terms with the yeast .. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My stomach feels bloated if i eat it often … ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Umm Salihah … Yeah, I know.
You are a Punjabi ??? Never told me, Did you ??
Well, we are now punjabi’s too, eating roti/chapati’s every time… :-). Even i dont know what do to with couscous … !!!
Maybe once i try, i will …..

lool, i cant believe i missed two posts already, well i’m not a big fan of rice, but rice is a big thing in my culture as well, but the couscous suggestion is still open, or you can just save up alot of money an buy that expensive rice, but only cook it on certain occasions, or u can just feed everyone in ur house pasta an save the rice for urself loool….ikid

The Asian countries are also facing this shortage, price of rice has indeed increase so much so that my monthly kitchen fund is not enough anymore ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Yes, its time to look at other food as the main staple of our diet. Eating bread is an option but sooner or later I think even price of flour will increase…

sad soo sad isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 176,933 visits
