M A R Y A M

Between Friends

Posted on: Sunday, May 11, 2008

Have we ever imagined that a story can ever be told only through letters and Journals ? Have we come across such a book where a beautiful tale of two friends is woven through the letters they share and their journals ? Well! I have. I read this book long back and forgot its name. After a lot of research i found its name and here i am writing about it.

This book ‘Between Friends’ by Debbie Macomber tells us a remarkable story said in a remarkable way. When i first got this book, I wasnt sure it would make any sense to me at all, but i am glad i brought it home and read it. This book is very special to me, because of its story as well as for the way it is said.

This is about two High School friends – ‘Jillian Lawton’ and ‘Lesley Adamski’. Their mistakes, circumstances and their destiny takes them far from each other. And they exchange letters which takes ahead the story. Lesley marries her boyfriend(who rapes her) and has three kids, Caught in her cramped life, fighting with poverty she struggles to survive, whereas Jillian finishes her degree and falls in love with Nick, who dies in a war, leaving her totally devastated. Both of them while nursing their wounds, help each other pass this phase of their lives and finally their destiny meets them with a smile.

BETWEEN FRIENDS is an insightful look at five decades of America through the eyes of two friends living totally different lifestyles as the country goes about its changing business. This book highlights the importance of Friendship between people no matter what situation you are in. I loved this book, and the way it is narrated is absolutely Brilliant. Anyone who read it ?

10 Responses to "Between Friends"

Not read it yet but I will…after such high recommendations from you..

sounds good, but now i dont have enough time to read, there was a time when i use to read daily one novel, but now life just revolves around house n kids πŸ™‚

Lubbu … Oh! I am honoured sweety … πŸ˜‰
It was a good read, specially the way it was written was brilliant.

Fatima … I understand, Life doesnt always give you time to spare, Does it? I LOVE reading, and i make sure i do that, Thats the only thing which i am i love with. Ofcourse I am not sure i can continue doing that once my Uni starts, once my family starts …. !!!! πŸ™‚

I am interested in having it. But unfortunately it seem not released in my country yet..

oohhh… i love reading Debbie Macomber’s books, truly she’s a good writer πŸ™‚

I’ve not read this book. But seems it has an interesting and inspiring story. I liked to have a look to it. πŸ™‚

G R … Oh! Thats bad. Were did you say you live by the way, I may be of some help to you in finding this book if you dont mind … πŸ™‚

Adikbongsu …. Yes, She is. What are(her) other books that you read, A nice book that i am missing ???

Shahrzad .. It is a interesting and inspirational story, I am sure you will like it …. πŸ™‚

I live in Indonesia. Not released yet, right?

ya you are absolutely right πŸ™‚ and wish you all the best always .

I see it on ebay Indonesia and Amazon too. It isnt a latest novel, It was released in June 2002 actually. Hope you would find it … πŸ™‚

Fatima … Thank you .. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 176,752 visits
