M A R Y A M

Sisters

Posted on: Tuesday, April 29, 2008

“Sister is probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it becomes the strongest relationship.” – Margaret Mead

I recently read a great novel by Danielle Steel, ‘Sisters’. I once long back, got hold of this book, but couldnt read it. Thought of giving this book a read, and loved it. I have a sister too, I realize how deep the relation between sisters can be, We feel like strangling them one minute, and the next we are filled with love for them. Thats the way it is … !!!

Its a story about four sisters, Candy;the youngest one,an upcoming super-model, Annie;an artist, Tammy; a Hollywood television producer and Sabrina;the eldest one,The successful lawyer. About how their life’s makes them move far from each other, but still manage to maintain strong bonds between them. As each year, they fly back to their home, to their parents to celebrate 4th of July. But, before the planned holiday takes its course, a tragedy strikes them, changing their world forever.
Finding themselves in an utter chaos, four sisters who have been running for fame and success,claiming different walks of life, suddenly find themselves coming together to support each other, while one of them nurses her broken soul and spirit.

This is a story which is filled with tears, humour, passion, love, laughter and most importantly – Wonder of life. Life isnt always what we plan it to be like, But crying over it doesnt take anyone anywhere. Fighting and winning back is the key, which is beautifully told in this book.
Filled with compassion, Danielle steel emphasises the importance of family, No matter how happy or sad you are. A family, is a place where we find solitude and peace. I am totally in love with this story, which gave me hope that In this cruel world too, people still long and respect their family ties, which is ultimately the strongest relation ever.

13 Responses to "Sisters"

awwwww.. so beautifully powerful.. it reminded me of ‘little women’..

may Allah save my sister for me from all harm & everyone’s sister.. amen 🙂

i used to read a lot of danielle steel, i can’t remember if i’ve read this one or not.
i really enjoyed the sisterhood of the ya-yas. have you read that one?

Sisterhood is wht I have so longed for:(
I alwyas wanted to have a sister, and teh dream was a twin which was impossible!

Assalam-alikam,
I usually avoid Danielle Steel, but being one of four sisters, your review has piqued my interest.

This sounds so familiar I think I’ve read it. Danielle Steel is a really powerful writer!

P.S. I have two sisters and I have to admit that “We feel like strangling them one minute, and the next we are filled with love for them.” is TOTALLY true 😀

My sister got married few days back and I miss her like hell.we both are as oppsoite as two poles in habits but have everlasting frienship. May Allah bless her with load of happiness and love…ameen

so true, sisters are generally very close to each other, though they may argue or fight wid each other for lil – lil things , but they cant do widout each other also 🙂

You know what, I’d love to read that book. I’ve a favourite sister quote too:
“Having a sister is like having a best friend you can’t get rid of. You know whatever you do, they’ll still be there.” – Amy Lee

Salam Maryam,

Thanks for the review, its been a long time since I read a Danielle Steele book. Indeed sisterhood is something that blooms with time. I used to quarrel a lot with my sisters when I was small but as we all grow, the quarrel cease and understanding between us set in and love blooms.

🙂

Sara … Thats a wonderful dua sweety. Ameen for that .. 🙂

Mona … Maybe you have, as this is one of the famous novels of Danielle.
No, I havent. But i surely will try to inshallah. Is that the name ‘Sisterhood of Ya-yas’

Unaiza Nasim … Awww, Its Okay sweety. Look at the brighter side, No rivalry, competition for love from parents, etc …. of which i was bothered a lot ….. !!!!

Umm Salihah … Why do you prefer avoiding Danielle Steel ? I do not know much myself either but she is a good writer.

Liya … I havent read many of her books, this is the second one, i Guess. Dint like her previous novel, but loved this one. Yes, she is a powerful writer, Can mold a simple topic/story into a beautiful and catchy one.
Isnt it ? I have written that from my personal experience with my sister … 😉 . Just dont tell her that .. !!!

Aashely …. I understand sweety, I have been there myself too, when my sister was married and I was left alone with my parents. Missed her awfully lot then.
May Allah keep your sister happy,Ameen

Fatima … Thats exactly what i was thinking, As i mentioned ‘We feel like strangling them one minute, and the next we are filled with love for them’ which i spoke from my experience … 😉

Hina …. I am glad my review makes you want to read this book. Its a beautifully written story.
Its a lovely quote too, and SO very true, Isnt it ?

Adikbongsu … Isnt it? I feel so too. That is also why i loved this book I guess, always loved this bond between sisters.

Assalamu Alaykum,

I read that book and i love it. It was very beautiful story. Having two sisters i hope we become that close during our life as adults. She is VERY talent.

Sister is probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it becomes the strongest relationship.

The line says it all … must read =))

Nadira …. Yes, You will sweety. Thats the way of life.

Asma …. Yup! It is a Must-read according to me too. Let me know what you think after you read it, Okay ?

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 176,484 visits
