M A R Y A M

Once upon a Time

Posted on: Thursday, April 24, 2008

” How far is it Mamma” cried a 12 year old girl in anticipation. She was going to see the Most beautiful thing/structure a Human eye ever saw.
” Just 10 more mins sweety ” said her mother in response, and gave instructions to hold her hand, once they get down of their car.
The car came to a screeching halt, The girl’s eyes took some time to adjust to the light outside.Though the sun wasnt set completely(It was 4:45 a.m in the morning), it was very illuminious. They got down and the girl immediately caught her Mother’s hand and walked with her eyes pinned to the ground. She dint wanted to see ‘it’ till she was completely face-to-face with it. As soon as her bare feet touched the Marble flooring, expecting it to be hot, she was surprised to feel blissfully cold under her feet. ‘Mashallah’, let out the girl.

Watching many people running towards ‘it’, with sheer dedication and concentration, she started reciting the Talbiyah, just as her father advised and taught her to. Very soon she stood before ‘it’ and her parents asked her to raise her eyes and see it. Not able to contain anymore excitement, the girl raised her head with a smile on her face. A sudden chill went down her spine, She was finally standing before ‘Kaaba’ in Mecca. Having heard a lot about Kaaba and finally seeing it with her own eyes, was a big blessing for her, and she felt tears running down her cheek, with happiness. Her eyes fixed on the black covering of Kaaba, the embriodery(text) with gold on it. ‘Baitul Muqaddas’ was something which made her heart skip a beat, She was speechless, watching people clinging to it and making duas with total faith in Allah. She saw the ‘Hajr-e-aswad’ and ran towards with, she was stunned with the musk smell emerging from it, even when many people were crying(asking duas) leaning into it. She became suddenly aware of Allah’s grace and existance, That sight increasing her faith in Allah by thousand folds, She thanked Allah for blessing her with a chance to visit Haram for a Umrah at the mere age of 12. She along with her parents raised her hands, making duas for the first time in her life in Haram.
Having read two nafil prayers, She held her Mothers hand at one side and her fathers hand at the other side, and they started their Umrah, first by doing Tawaf.

The girl is none other than Me, and this was my first experience of visiting Haram, which i still cherish with the depth of my heart. I alhamdulillah visited Haram many times, and still am hungry to visit it whenever i can. I pray for anyone here, who havent visited it, for a chance to witness its beauty and elegance. What a beautiful and majestic structure Kaaba is and How merciful and loving Allah is.

Please feel free to share your experience with us.

20 Responses to "Once upon a Time"

MashAllah!!…Lucky girl…and very nicely expressed.
Alhamdolillah I am blessed to have visited Haram few times…and my first experience was really amazing…something that is hard to express…or even feel now. Few years before I visited , while praying in local mosque I used to get the feeling that I am sitting and praying in Haram…and when I offered my first prayers in Haram, I got the exactly the same feeling.:). Every experience has been a real blessing and the last one ( till now) was very satisfying too. It was Ramadan and I was sitting under the soft roof right under the place where two sections join. I was praying for so many things with eyes closed, wishing my prayers to be accepted…and suddenly I felt rain drops falling on my face and in my praying hands…that was very very happy and satisfying moments of life, Alhamdolillah!.
I only got to touch ‘ Hajr e Aswad’ much later and that too only once till now (I did not feel right to push my muslim brothers and sisters to do my Ibaadah ).

In addition to Makkah, the moments I really cherish are the first visit to Masjid Nabwi…Roza e Rasool ( SAW), first time wandering in Makkah and Madinah realizing that our beloved Prophet Mohammad had walked the same land few centuries ago, praying just before maghrib at ‘ Arafat’.

Thanks again Maryam for the post that brings back the pure feeling of happiness. …Allah bless you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Lucky girl!I have strong wish to be there at Makkah,standing before kabba,loudly wants to say my duas and makes promise to Allah that now He must take of evrything which I have asked from Him…May Allah help me out!

NIce post, u wrote it like they write in novels :),
well written, lucky girl.

Hmm! I remember visitng hte place for haj when I was just 4!
I still remember it and then when I again visited in 1989…I was a lil grown up and since then I ve been to the magical place again and again. just praying to get a chance in Ramadan. Amen!

I am green with envy… I haven’t been there, but I have been praying to get there. It almost make me cry reading this. In right time, I hope to visit Mecca and see the Holy Ka’aba. Some of my relatives and my father were able to visit it. They were on tears telling stories about it. It’s not that easy for us from third world countries to easily get there. It needs hardships, determination, and prayers – for we need to save money for the expenses, for the family left at home, and all others – before we can get at the Holy place. So, if it happens to one of us, it’s really a dream come true, what more if we can go back there again and again.

In my case, at age of 23, I am saving money for me to visit, pray, and perform the 5th pillar of Islam, the pilgrimage. I don’t know when, it could take me 2, 3, 4 or more years of saving money to afford all the expenses. No matter what, Insha’allah, my dream will come true. ๐Ÿ™‚

Really, lucky girl you are. ๐Ÿ™‚

Awww that was such a cute story
Mashallah…

I envy you.

Thank you all for your lovely words. I pray that Allah blesses every Muslim with many such chances to visit Haram, in their lifetime,Ameen.

Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

Masya’Allah… you’re indeed very lucky Maryam. Do right more of your experience while you were at the Holy Land.
Looking forward to more of it! ๐Ÿ™‚

thk you for sharing sister… ๐Ÿ™‚

MashAllah that is such a sweet memory i remember i went for Umrah when i was 9 but i m unfortunate i wasnt able to perform my Umrah as i was quite young at that time, though i havent got a chance to go on that faithful journey again bt inshAllah Allah is the Malik if he wants me ill surely be there sometime soon inshAllah ๐Ÿ™‚

Adikbongsu …. You are welcome sweety, I shall write more in the near future inshallah.

Nikki … You will inshallah get a chance dear, Have faith in Allah. Beg him, and HE shall listen to every believer.

I dont understand why people say that dont make the eye contact with HOLYKAABA until you reach closer to it,is there some reason behind that?why the people touch and kiss the KHILAAF-E-KAABA what i think it is a piece of cloth which is changed once it get old.My parents visited KAABASHAREEF they said there are many birds over there but not even one goes crossing the HOLYKAABA.

Assalm-alaikam,
mash’Allah great post.
I visited Makkah for Umrah when I was nine and you never forget that first glimpse of the Kaaba. As a child, the scale and the beauty of that place is breathtaking.
I also remember a lot of cats roaming around.
I visited again a few years ago and the cats weren’t there anymore.
Madina is lovely too, it suddenly hits you that you are walking in the same place as the beloved Prophet (PBUH) and the Sahabah (RA) did and it is mind-blowing.

Thanks for sharing

What a lovely lovely sharing maryam ๐Ÿ™‚

And so very nicely narrated … spine chilling to an extent !!

I’m still waiting for Allah’s yes to let me visit the blessed haram some time and all those places related to our Hazur saww and his companions ra … ๐Ÿ™‚

Gracious narration dear!!!

This just reminded me of the time when I visited the shrine of Imam Ali Raza(A.S.) in Mashhad, Iran. I couldn’t believe I was actually there! I still remember the beautiful dome, the gold doors and Zarih and the pigeons outside. That was one of the most unforgettable experiences of my life at age 11.

Ahsan Waseem Khan …. I dont know why is it said so, Maybe because when we see it for the first time, the effect we feel seeing it from a closer view isnt the same when seen from a distance.
Regarding the cover, Yes! It is changed every year. But people love clinging to it, because that piece of cloth is a part of Kaa’ba. What can be more dearer to anyone than clinging to a part of Kaa’ba ???
I havent heard the fact you mentioned about birds there, This is very new to me. Its Amazing,Isnt it ?

Umm Salihah ….. When i visited Haram, I do not remember seeing Cats there, but i saw a whole lot of pigeons there.
Yes, Madina was absolutely beautiful and the atmosphere there was very calm, not as in Haram. But what beauties these two structures are …. !!!

Asma …. May Allah give you, along with all believers many such chances to visit Haram, Ameen.
Thank you for your lovely words dear. I am flattered .. ๐Ÿ™‚

SAWJ ….. Err … I dont know whether a believer is allowed to visit shrines. I maybe wrong, but i think so. Please verify about it.
Thank you for your comment.

What’s wrong with visiting shrines? We do go to the Prophet’s grave after Hajj don’t we? Imam Ali Raza (A.S) is the descendant of the Holy Prophet (S.A.W.W.) through Bibi Fatimah (S.A.).

It also depends on the reason and intention of visiting the shrine.

I am sorry, but i just dont think anyone is comparable to our beloved Prophet S.A.S, It doesnt seem right to compare people visiting prophet S.A.S’s grave(jiyaarat) with anyone else.

Yes, It does depend on intentions and reason too.

The shrine of Imam Ali Raza is that of the eighth Imam in the Shiite doctrine, descendant of the Prophet and very sacred, just like the Prophet’s.

The shrines belonging to the Prophet and his descendants, his daughter Fatimah Zehra (S.A.) and the eleven Imams, collectively form the places of Ziaraat in Shia Islam and in most divisions of Sunni Islam also.

We obviously belong to different schools of thought, so the different beliefs.

We definitely seem to belong to different school of thoughts … ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 177,188 visits
