M A R Y A M

Swapping Lives

Posted on: Friday, March 14, 2008

What would you do, if you are given a chance to swap your life with a glamorous, no-worry life ? Would you risk it all in search of your hapiness ? How happy are you with your life ? Wanna try it out ?

This is one of my favourite books (Swapping Lives) i have read so far, I am a die-hard fan of its author- Jane Green since. Amber Winslow and Vicky Townsley each have the life, the other desires. Amber a mother of two, married to the very rich Richard Winslow lives in a wealthy Connecticut suburb, but misses the freedom and flexibility that being single brought her, is crazy that her full-time nanny meets her children more than she herself does; whereas Vicky Townsley lives a rich, glamorous lifestyle, working as a features director for Poise!, one of England’s most popular fashion magazines, but she desires to be married to a husband who would adore her, and children whom laughter shall fill her home with happiness.

Vicky’s editor at Poise comes up with a brilliant plan, hearing her desire to experience married life, The magazine will hold a contest where married women will apply to trade places with Vicky herself, living in her flat, doing her job, wearing her clothes, and living her fabulous single lifestyle for a month. In the meantime, Vicky will see what domestic life is really like by walking in a married woman’s shoes (literally!) for the same time period. At the end of the month, Vicky will write the whole experience up for the magazine. This is when and how Vicky meets Amber (inspite of her husbands disapproval) and starts the adventure which neither of them has any idea about.

It was fun reading this book, Its makes us realise that ‘ The grass may seem greener on the other side, but it isnt really’ . I was completely glued to this book, laughing when they laughed and even shedded a tear or two when they did …. 🙂  . We all have an inner wish to swap our life with that of someone who leads a more intresting life than us, just for an adventure. Dont we ? We would be lying not to agree. I do too, but wouldnt do if really given a chance though …. !!!! I loved the way their life was potrayed, Their journey to Appreciate their own life/worlds, beautifully woven with threads of the emotions and with a touch of excellence, is simply amazing.

Anyone who read this book ? Please feel free to share your opinion with us.

9 Responses to "Swapping Lives"

sounds interesting, will try to read it, ya its so true that that grass looks greener always on the other side. 🙂

oohh.. sounds interesting for sure!! can’t wait to get my hands on this..

lol, that sounds like such a cool book , I would love to swap my life with a traveller for a year !lol I think I would love it ..

lol, that sounds like such a cool book , I would love to swap my life with a traveller for a year !lol I think I would love it ..

Fatima …… Sure, Let me know what you think of it after you finish reading.

mayG …. You would definitely enjoy reading it.

benevolence85 ……I am so glad to have you back Amal. I am sure you would love it, but would you really Amal ? I dint knew you are a traveller kind …. !!!!

Ahh you are a Jane Green fan. I got this one from the library, but didn’t around to really giving it my full attention. I have read her other books. They kinda in the same vein of Bridget Jones!

Welcome to my blog Muslim007,
I have never tried any books of Bridget Jones, What kind of books does he/she writes ? Fiction, Mystrey, Thriller , ???

Hmmm… I found you blog good. And so this article. I am a booklover, and I find your review quite interesting that I wanted to grab a copy of it (or check online if there’s an online version). By the way, I added you to my blogroll (blogs i find cool) as we “speak”.

*****
March 22 is World Water Day!
Please forward this to people you think must know this event.

Be informed. Be involved. Act now to save billions of lives.

http://baikong.wordpress.com/2008/03/21/save-lives-provide-safe-water/

******

Thank you for adding my page in your list Baikong.

Do visit again

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 177,188 visits
