M A R Y A M

Hadith/Virtues of Surah Al-Baqarah

Posted on: Sunday, November 4, 2007

As you all maybe knowing my last post “Surah Al- Baqarah” got very good response alhamdulillah and the comments were the best ones that i could ever get. Many of my readers started reading Quran with translation after reading my post,taking it as a motivation. Allah bless you all and give you its ajar too.
Among the various comments that i got, My friend Fatima Mirza quoted some hadith which i dint knew of, I took her permission immediately and thought of sharing them with you all, Maybe you never knew about this Hadith too.

I have a request everyone, Please leave the comments (if you are) referring to Fatima and not me, as she is the one who deserves that.

In his Musnad, Ad-Darimi recorded that Ibn Mas`ud said,
Whoever recites ten Ayat from Surat Al-Baqarah in a night, then Shaytan will not enter his house that night. (These ten Ayat are) four from the beginning, Ayat Al-Kursi (255), the following two Ayat (256-257) and the last three Ayat.

In another narration, Ibn Mas`ud said, “Then Shaytan will not come near him or his family, nor will he be touched by anything that he dislikes. Also, if these Ayat were to be recited over a senile person, they would wake him up.”

Further, Sahl bin Sa`d said that the Messenger of Allah said,

Everything has a hump (or, high peek), and Al-Baqarah is the high peek of the Qur’an. Whoever recites Al-Baqarah at night in his house, then Shaytan will not enter thathouse for three nights. Whoever recites it during a day in his house, then Shaytan will not enter that house for three days.” This Hadith was collected by Abu Al-Qasim At-Tabarani, Abu Hatim Ibn Hibban in his Sahih and Ibn Marduwyah.

This is the wording collected by At-Tirmidhi, who said that this Hadith is Hasan. In another narration, At-Tirmidhi recorded this same Hadith in a Mursal manner, so Allah knows best.

Also, Al-Bukhari recorded that Usayd bin Hudayr said that he was once reciting Surat Al-Baqarah while his horse was tied next to him. The horse started to make some noise. When Usayd stopped reciting, the horse stopped moving about. When he resumed reading, the horse started moving about again. When he stopped reciting, the horse stopped moving, and when he resumed reading, the horse started to move again. Meanwhile, his son Yahya was close to the horse, and he feared that the horse might step on him. When he moved his son back, he looked up to the sky and saw a cloud radiating with light that looked like lamps.In the morning, he went to the Prophet and told him what had happened and then said, “O Messenger of Allah! My son Yahya was close to the horse and I feared that he might step on him. When I attended to him and raised my head to the sky, I saw a cloud with lights like lamps. So I went, but I couldn’t see it.” The Prophet said, “Do you know what that was” He said, “No.” The Prophet said,
“(They were the angels, they came close hearing your voice (reciting Surat Al-Baqarah), and if you had kept reading, the people would have been able to see the angels when the morning came, and the angels would not be hidden from their eyes.)”
This is the narration reported by Imam Abu Ubayd Al-Qasim bin Salam in his book Fada’il Al-Qur’an.

Thank you again – Fatima

18 Responses to "Hadith/Virtues of Surah Al-Baqarah"

O wow, this is great. I did not know this. Jazakallah to you and Fatima.

Hi,
Thts so sweet of u , to actually give my name in this post,u’re always welcome. Take Care .

Mash’Allah, what an insightful read. Ther were some new things I learned from this entry.

Jazak ALlahu Kahir to both of you sisters.

🙂

may god reward you.

can i use a couple of these ahadith for my report on Surah Al-Baqarah.

Sure Iman, You certainly can.
Can you please give me your site address(or wherever you are writing it), so that i can learn more from your Report too.

May Allah bless you all,Ameen

May allah reward
you
many times
along with the rest of the brothers and sisters of islam

and may all prays of every muslim be Accepted
ameen

Thank you both. Alhamduilah. and i love allah and everyone who loves allah and the angels and his books and everything inshallah.

and inshallah if it’s ok with you guys i’m going to us it on my facebook!

i like this hadith
please send me some related hadith and especially the benefits and advantages of surah baqarah in detail.
i shall be very thankful to you

May Allah reward you . Ameen

wow mashallah may god bless you people inshallah.

Thank you very much for sharing. Inshallah more visitors will benefit from your blog.

🙂

Mashallah, fatima and meryam have started a commendable Job. Jazak Allah. Ameen.
Brothers and Sisters ! i need to have video adresses on Tafsir Of Albqara in urdu or in English. plz direct me. i will be highly obliged!

@ Hamid .. Jazkallah for your good words.
I am not sure where you could find authentic videos of Tafsir but this is where you can read the authenticated tafsir of Al-Baqarah or any other Surah. Hope it helped.

Subhan Allah Subhan Allah ….its an amazing virtue of surah Al Baqarah . My teacher used to say me that reading it would not allow the satan to enter the house or harm you in anyway .But the Hadith in Al bukhari made my heart pumping that Allah’s words are are very very marvellous and I believe that when I read it the angels will be there for me . and surely I believe on every word of the Quran and assosiate none with Allah .Not even Asking help from any awliya,wali,peer,or shrine . I ask the Best Provider to provide me ! HE DOES PROVIDES ME ALHUMDULLILLAH ..GOD BLESS U SISTER AMEEN

Beautifull Ahadees.ur efforts r very helpfull for me.May ALLAH bless u n Fatima.

ths shows how great and merciful allah is.

Leave a Reply

Dua of the Week

ATTENTION:

As salaam alaikum Readers,

This is to assure that all the content seen/ to be see on this blog is authentic inshallah. If anyone wishes to inquire about the references, please write to me. You can do so by filling the contact form in my Question/Reach me page.

Wish you have a good and blessed day, Ameen

Hot Spots/Banners


Muslim Singles, Matrimonial, Shaadi and Marriage Introductions Online - SingleMuslim.com


Visit Dar-us-Salam.com for all your Islamic shopping needs!

My Collection

I wrote on

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

I am Reading

Blog Hits

  • 176,499 visits
